Gears of war armour week 3

Hey there prop and costume fans. Here we are again with the next weekly update on the JD Fenix armour.

The last part I had done last week was attaching the front and back pieces via the shoulder, allowing me to see if my big head would fit through the gap. spoiler alert…..it did!

So the logical next step for me was to do both the sides that run around my ribs from the front to the back foam pieces. It took a little long that I wanted it to because I had to do a bit of trail and error with the bevels that had to be in place.

I also had to think about the best way to get in and out of the suit because that was the issue I came across when I first made this armour last year. Last year I tried to use a zipper but that ultimately failed to the point I had to scrap the whole thing.

My first idea was to use magnets, but after testing it around my body I soon realised it wouldn’t be enough so thought about using a buckle and incorporating it into the design of the armour itself like you can see below.

With both the magnets and the buckle on the one side it will be very easy for me to slip in and out of it.

With that problem solved the main fabrication of the suit it done! It was now time to move onto the electronics and the lighting.

I am using programmable LED strip lights I was able to procure from amazon. These are the kind of lights you see both prop makers use and people use around their homes for mood lighting or even for parties.

Programming them is pretty simple with the use of the Arduino programme and using an logic chip. The one I chose to use was the Adafruit 5v trinket due to it powerful but small size, which I could fit into the armour with little worry about it getting in the way of, well, me wearing it. As for the power source I have a few battery packs that give off 5v which will work perfectly.

I was able to solder all the wire connections to the LED strip but unfortunately ran out of time to link it to the the adafruit trinket but just means I know exactly where to start off next week!

If you want to try this out for yourself I will link the components and relevant information below

LED strip lights: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01CFTBESA/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Adafruit trinket pro: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00K9THV04/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Arduino programe: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/Software